10 UNESCO World Heritage Sites In Nepal

Being a part of an amazing UNESCO World Heritage Sites in Nepal is itself an incredible feeling and, most of all, a proud moment. Nepal, although being a small country, has become a prosperous and proud country to have listed in UNESCO World Heritage Sites for ten different places and artifacts.


Nepal is a country that is rich in natural factors as well as on its unique lifestyles and religious traditions. There are altogether 10 World Heritage Sites in Nepal, and among them, eight of them are listed through the cultural sense and two of them through natural sense.


So, here, we will discuss about all of the 10 UNESCO World Heritage Sites of Nepal.


Cultural Essence World Heritage Sites in Nepal


1. Swayambhunath Stupa


Swayambhunath stupa is estimated to be around 2500 years old and considered probably one of the oldest monuments among other world heritage sites. The stupa comprises a hemisphere at the base, above which is a cubical structure painted with eyes of Buddha glancing in all four directions representing Wisdom and Compassion. This temple is regarded as the symbol of religious tolerance as there is the temple of the Hindu goddess Saraswati.



The stupa symbolizes the four elements that are earth, wind, water, and fire. There are thirteen tiers, and Gajur is at the top of them. Panch Buddhas(five Buddhas) are also craved on each of the four sides of the stupa. Swayambhunath stupa was listed in UNESCO World Heritage sites in Nepal in 1979 A.D.


2. Pashupatinath Temple


Pashupatinath Temple is situated on the bank of Bagmati in Kathmandu, which is one of the holy places of Hindus in Nepal and abroad. The Pashupatinath temple is built in Pagoda style with a golden roof. There are about 492 temples, shrines, chaityas, and about 1000 Shivalingas.


World Heritage Sites in Nepal
Pashupatinath area

The area of Pashupatinath covers 0.64 hectares of land. It includes the Pashupatinath temple, Aryaghat, Electric crematorium, Deupatan, Jaybageshwari, Gaurigat, Kutumbahal, Shleshmantak Forest. The Pashupati Development Trust use to work to preserve and promote this area. It was listed in UNESCO World Heritage sites in Nepal in 1979 A.D.


3. Lumbini


Lumbini, the birthplace of Gautam Buddha, was listed in UNESCO World Heritage sites in Nepal in 1997 A.D. It is the most sacred place of Buddhists from around the world. Mayadevi temple and Pushkarini pond are also very famous in Lumbini. Beautiful stupas, monasteries, vihars, libraries, a museum, and a research center are built.


Birthplace of Lord Buddha

In Lumbini, many vihars are constructed by countries such as China, Myanmar, Japan, Vietnam, South Korea, India, Thailand, France, and Germany. The Lumbini Development Committee formed in 1970 A.D use to look after this area.


4. Bhaktapur Durbar Square


The Bhaktapur Durbar square is also called as Bhadgaon and kwapa. It is at a distance of about 13 km to the east of Kathmandu. Bhaktapur was the center of art and architecture during the Malla period.


Some of the major attractions of this area are Nyatapola Temple, fifty-five windowed palace, Dattatraya temple, Statue of Bhupatindra malls, Colossal bell, Kettle drum, museum. Nyatapola Temple and fifty-five windowed palace were built by King Bhupatindra Malla.



Every year many tourists use to visit Bhaktapur Durbar Square to observe the art and architecture. This area is mostly occupied by the Newar community. The special type of Dahi (Yoghurt) called “Ju Ju(king) dhau (curd)” is famous there. Bhaktapur Durbar Square was listed in the UNESCO World Heritage Site in Nepal in 1979 A.D for its rich culture, temples, metal, and stone artworks.


5. Changu Narayan Temple


Changu Narayan temple is located on a high hilltop in the north of Bhaktapur. It is said that Lichchhavi King Manadev built this Hindu temple in the 5th century. This temple is built in the pagoda style. There are beautiful idols and statues of birds and animals at the entrance.


World Heritage Sites in Nepal

This site is important because of the ancient inscription on stone, wood, and metal. It is one of the four Narayan believed of Kathmandu valley. Changu Narayan Temple was listed in the UNESCO World Heritage site in Nepal in 1997 A.D.


6. Kathmandu Durbar Square


This famous monument zone was the administrative center of many Malla and Shah kings. It lies in the heart of the capital city, Kathmandu.  King Pratap Malla erected the statue of Hanuman (monkey god) in this palace in the medieval period. Since then, it is known as Hanumandhoka. We can see the masterpiece of Nepali art and architecture. Most of the buildings here are constructed from the 15th-18th centuries. There are many temples which are devoted to many Hindu deities.


Kathmandu durbar square
Kathmandu Durbar Square

Besides Hanumandhoka, Basantapur palace, Taleju Temple, museum, Kumarighar, Kasthamandap, a huge bell, and kettle-drum are other attractions there. It is a famous destination in the valley. It was enlisted in the  World Heritage site in Nepal in 1979 A.D.


7. Patan Durbar Square


Patan Durbar Square is another palace area of the Malla kings. It is located in the Lalitpur district. Here lies the famous Krishna temple with 21 golden pinnacles. Many temples and idols are also found in the area. The Patan durbar square also holds old Newari residential houses.


World Heritage Sites in Nepal
Patan Durbar Square

Bhimsen temple, a statue of Yognarendra Malla, Mahabauddha, Kumbheshwar Mahadev, the temple of Rato Machchhindranath, and Taleju Temple, is found in the site. It was known as a World Heritage site in Nepal in 1979 A.D.


8. Boudhanath Stupa


Boudhanath Stupa is one of the biggest and oldest monuments listed in the UNESCO world heritage site. It is located in the east of Kathmandu; it is one of the most sacred places for the Buddhists. Its measuring is almost 100 m in diameter and 40 m in height. It is believed to have been built around the fifth century. This monument is similar to the Swayambhunath stupa. Boudhanath stupa also contains valuable inscriptions. It was enlisted in the world heritage site in Nepal in 1979 A.D.





Boudhanath stupa

Natural Essence World Heritage Sites in Nepal


9. Sagarmatha National Park


Sagarmatha National Park has an area of 1148 sq. Km and lies in the Solukhumbu district of the Sagarmatha Zone. It was established in 1976 A.D. This park contains mountain peaks like Everest, Lhotse, Choyu, Nuptse, Pumori, Amadablam, and some villages. These peaks have been famous among mountaineers from throughout the world.


Sagarmatha national park
Sagarmatha National Park

Several kinds of animals and birds like wild yak, musk deer, red panda, snow leopard, Himalayan black deer, lophophorous, are found here. It was enlisted in UNESCO World Heritage sites in Nepal in 1979 A.D.


10. Chitwan National Park


Chitwan National Park is situated in the districts of Chitwan, Makawanpur, and Parsa. It occupies an area of 932 sq. Km of forests, marshes, and rivers. Chitwan national park was also formerly known as the Royal Chitwan National Park. It is one of Nepal’s most popular tourist destinations.


World Heritage Sites in Nepal
Chitwan National Park

This park shelters to many species of wildlife like a  spotted tiger, one-horned rhino, elephant, leopard, bear, crocodile, hornbill, peacock. Chitwan National Park was assigned as a World Heritage site in Nepal in 1984 A.D.